Semai Sekaide

Anime episode reviews.

Accel World – Episode 19

Subs by UTW

After today’s Sword Art Online, I doubt Accel World can top it… Also, I’ve finally given up on those 600 mb releases and am trying the avi of this.

Previously

Snow Black met two burst linkers from Okinawa who introduce her to their master. Snow Black seems to have known that master.

About this episode

Kay guys, if you didn’t notice it yet: we’ve got five episodes after this. That’s right, five. So getting a decent conclusion is pretty much out of the question now. Of course I already knew that the light novel series isn’t finished either, so it’s not surprising, but I’m still kind of disappointed about this. Wasn’t Snow Black supposed to defeat the other kings and find out the true meaning of the game? Up till now I feel like everything that happened was a side story, and not really heading anywhere. Maybe except for the Chrome Disaster arc, where Haruyuki kept the item somehow. Maybe these five episodes will be about Seiji now? I guess that would be satisfying enough if they don’t ruin the pace at the end.

I’ve talked about this often enough, but it’s still annoying every time it happens: Accel World likes to just shove new information down our throats whenever it’s convenient. Those monsters were mentioned briefly somewhere around episode 10, and now suddenly someone can tame them and use them in battle. This is obviously the first time that this is ever mentioned. I found this a little forced, but that might be just me.

Sulfur Pot is being pretty lame. One thing that I’m curious about though is how he’s talking about companions. At the end of the episode Snow Black also mentions this fact. Remember how I said that there might be a group of players around Seiji? What if Sulfur Pot belongs to that group and that’s how these two stories are connected. That would actually be a pretty good twist that explains this supposedly random side story. Both of them use cheats to hide their identities too, which could be more evidence.

Foreshadowing, perhaps?

Crickin is actually pretty cool when he transforms. I was already thinking about how he did the same things that Yuniko did, and then Snow Black actually mentions her. This doesn’t change the fact that he was really cool just stopping the fireball like that though. I actually hoped for some awesome Snow Black in this part though. She went green, but nothing happened after that. I really wanted to see her overdrive and fighting at full capacity. I believe that she implied that she could have defeated the Niddhog by herself, so she didn’t need all the cool stage switching and mermaid super attacks to help her. She’s crazy powerful without the help too.

Next comes a part that really annoyed me. Somehow the girl with the pink avatar is able to call Megumi into the game and Megumi does a super powerful special technique (without charging her gauge, mind you) out of nowhere. That’s right. Out of nowhere. If I remember correctly, you need to have the program installed to see this stuff. If not, Haruyuki and Takumu could have showed Chiyuri their battles before. But we’re pretty sure that Megumi isn’t a burst linker (although the show implies that she has something going for her), so this doesn’t make any sense at all. Accel World apparently likes to mess with the rules it has created somehow and that always kinda annoys me.

It was kinda cute how Snow Black was the only one with a black shirt on in the bus. Everyone else was wearing white. She’s special of course. More “Nyooo!” (although this is more of a “Nyoooaaa!”) too. In the end both of them bought a necklace for the other one. And that’s the end of this side story.

Rating: –

I got annoyed too much by all the stuff that the writer made up to suit his plot. More Snow Black action would’ve been cooler too in my opinion. I wanted to see her for real this time. Even in her special arc she didn’t star in the fight. That’s a shame actually…

One response to “Accel World – Episode 19

  1. Anonymous August 20, 2012 at 07:48

    ugh what an idiot
    wasted my time reading this
    you seriously lack comprehension – get that fixed before you “review” things.

Leave a comment