Semai Sekaide

Anime episode reviews.

Sankarea – Episode 4

Subs by Commie

Previously

Following his resurrected cat Babu, Chihiro steps into the lands of the Sanka family. At the same moment, Rea left home again and went looking for Chihiro because she overheard her father saying he wanted to take his manlyness. Rea’s father finds her and tries to grab her, but Rea falls off the cliff she’s on and dies… but she doesn’t.

About this episode

The episode begins with the part I’d want to see least: Rea’s family. Which is good, because that means the rest of the episode shows Chihiro and Rea.

This guy never ceases to amaze me - bathing with pictures of his daughter.

What I suspected is now also confirmed: Rea’s mom isn’t exactly happy that her husband cares more about his daughter than about her. I would’ve thought that she didn’t mind Rea leaving in that case, but she does. Oh, and it’s just because that would be bad for her reputation by the way, don’t worry. So the two want to get Rea back. I guess that’s something that’ll happen in the next few episodes or so.

We got a nice story about sewing, and then suddenly the reason we hear this is because Rea is stitching her wound. And so nonchalantly too.

This joke got me, totally. But I can't help wonder why she's not wearing a bra.

The funny thing is that Chihiro the zombie expert is weirded out and Rea is happy about all of this. I’m glad that Rea is still Rea though, she kept her personality since her death. I like it that although she’s an ojousama and all she’s sometimes pretty bold. She seems like a person who wants to go on adventures, learn new stuff. She doesn’t spend her time freaking out and uses that time to amuse us instead. Rea is a great female lead, that’s all I wanted to say here. I wouldn’t mind if the red eyes would go away though, I prefer her natural color.

Oh, so the show didn’t forget about Wanko. Chihiro didn’t mind leaving her last episode, and she sure is pissed now. In Chihiro’s defense, he never wanted her to go with him in the first place and she couldn’t keep up because she was busy providing fan service.

"No, your skirt is in the way."

I must admit, Sankarea does a pretty good job with small details. There’s a reason for Babu’s weird meow and it isn’t too far-fetched either. I thought it was just to make the cat somewhat weirder and funnier (this still applies though) so this pleasantly surprised me.

Rea’s face looks kind of scary sometimes when you only see her pale skin and big smile. Must be to remind us that she’s a zombie after all. But in spite of this, she wants to do “normal” things with Chihiro. Dates and all. They almost kiss too, but our usual anime laws prevent this. Once Wanko calls Chihiro over, Rea realises what she almost did. It’s kind of late to be ashamed though, Rea. But really, Rea and Chihiro make a great couple.

Angry Wanko doesn’t stay angry for too long. But right then Chihiro’s friends also pop by.

Translations like these make me chuckle now and then.

Wait, Chihiro didn’t realise that he had his perfect zombie chick until now? Seriously?! I was wondering if maybe the idea of a real zombie didn’t turn him off after all, but somehow he forgot that this is his dream came true until now.

I have no clue what takes Chihiro so long, since it turned dark at Chihiro’s house. The sun was setting at the river bank, so I guess at least half an hour passed since then. Poor Rea, all alone and wondering who that other girl was. I can’t exactly blame her. But since she’s at some unknown house, of course taking a shower is the most obvious thing to do. I’m not sure why Rea said that zombies couldn’t shower. She might know more than I do. Maybe it was about the not feeling hot or cold part, but that isn’t a reason not to take one. That must suck though, I love warm showers. That’s one of the best moments of the day, stepping into a warm shower.Service ensures, because for some reason Rea feels the urge to stick something (I guess some kind of sponge?) between her breasts. The music playing at that scene sounded fun though, and the scene had a happy feel to it.

Those goggles are awesome.

Seriously, what? That grandpa is hilarious, both his look and his senile personality. The best part was when his granddaughter reminded him that his wife wasn’t called Sada. But now there’s a naked and wet Rea in Chihiro’s room.

After at least an hour, Chihiro is finally back. What a guy, to let a lady wait for him that long.

Best clip of the episode. I mean, I can't even tell if she's making a joke or if the Furuyas really eat roadkill for dinner.

Finally Chihiro falls for Rea. That took a while. But now there’s a new problem: she can’t move. After all, she is a dead body so I guess that makes sense. This is now next week’s problem: how will they “save” Rea? I bet that she has to keep eating the leaves, since Babu also ate them last episode and now looks better. Next week we’ll find out more so I’m looking forward to that again.

The preview seems to tell us that next week’s episode will be full of service. I’m actually really happy that the ecchi stuff is kept at a minimum up till here, so I hope that the preview is selective in its scenes or that it makes sense in the context.

Rating: +

Another great episode. It was funny, had its nice moments with Rea (who is an amazing character) and the plot is moving at a good pace. Not too fast, not too slow and that fits the tone perfectly. Keep it up, Sankarea.

Leave a comment